

Pennington County Fire Administrator 315 Saint Joseph St. #B28 Rapid City, SD 57701-2880 Office: 605-394-5367 Fax: 605-394-2179 Cell: 605-390-0205 Email: denny.gorton@co.pennington.sd.us



NEWS RELEASE FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Date: June 28, 2007

For more information contact: Dennis Gorton, Pennington County Fire Administrator at 394-5367

South Dakota Codified Law 7-8-20 (18) provides county commissioners with the authority, "To prohibit or restrict open burning, after consultation with local fire officials and law enforcement officials, in order to protect the public health and safety".

On Tuesday, June 26, 2007 the Pennington County Board of Commissioners adopted the following resolution:

BE IT HEREBY RESOLVED by the Pennington County Commission that all open burning in Pennington County is hereby banned until further action by the Commission except in permitted commercial campgrounds, campgrounds owned or operated by the State of South Dakota or United States Forest Service, and those individuals who have a valid burning permit issued by the South Dakota Division of Wildland Fire Suppression or the United States Forest Service; and

IT IS FURTHER RESOLVED, that this Resolution is effective upon passage by the Pennington County Commission.

Dated this 26th day of June 2007.

This burn ban applies to any resident in Pennington County, outside any municipality, who does not have a valid permit issued by SD Wildfire Suppression or US Forest Service. Residents who have a valid permit are NOT included in the burn ban.

Residents will be allowed to use gas or charcoal fired BBQ grills. Campfires will be allowed only in licensed commercial campgrounds and those operated by the State of South Dakota or US Forest Service.

With the grasslands fire danger in the high, extreme and potential red-flag warning categories and the potential for hot dry weather to continue in Pennington County the Board of Commissioners felt it was in the best interest of all citizens.

This open burning ban will remain in effect until repealed by the Pennington County Board of Commissioners.